Senator Soji Akanbi Secures Oyo South ADC Ticket

Barring last-minute substitution of candidates, Sen. Adesoji Akanbi has secured the African Democratic Congress (ADC) ticket to seek re-election to represent his Oyo South Senatorial District in the 2019 polls.

The provincial list of candidates for presidential and national assembly elections recently released by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC,  revealed that Sen Akanbi’s name has been submitted as the party nominee.

As for Senator Akanbi, the declaration by the incumbent Governor, Abiola Ajimobi to run for Senate in 2019 has put the political bid of the lawmaker representing the most populated senatorial district in the State –  Oyo South on the line in the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Interestingly, with this latest development, Sen. Adesoji Akanbi (ADC) is expected to contest the seat with Governor Abiola Ajimobi (APC) while the other contenders include, Dr Fola Akinosun, who was reported to have secured the Action Democratic Party ticket (ADP) among others.

Oyo South Senatorial District houses nine local governments namely: Ibadan South-West, Ibadan North, Ibadan North-West and Ibadan South-East.

Others are Ibadan North-East, Ido, Ibarapa Central, Ibarapa East and Ibarapa North.



By Idowu Ayodele

ALSO READ  APC destroying traditional institution in Ibadanland – Accord party alleges

Copyright © 2017| MegaIconMagazine. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.