JUST IN : Oyo ADC nullifies Lanlehin’s candidacy, to name guber candidate tomorrow

THE Oyo State Chapter of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) on Monday nullified the candidacy of Senator Olufemi Lanlehin as its governorship aspirant and resolved to pick a new candidate to represent the party in the forthcoming 2019 general elections, Mega Icon Magazine exclusively gathered.

This resolution was made during a meeting held at one of the aspirant, Barrister Lowo Obisesan’s office, situated at Oke -Ado axis of Ibadan, the Oyo state capital where the National executives of the party led by Chief Ralph Nwosu gathered other stakeholders in an attempt to resolve the lingering imbroglio surrounding the selection of the governorship candidate of the party, Sen. Olufemi Lanlehin.

Aggrieved stakeholders at the meeting as learnt also expressed their vexation at the alleged injustice and high -handedness of the party leaders in the state.

Our further checks unearthed that the party has agreed to pick a consensus candidate which will be decided by the 13 gubernatorial aspirants of the party tomorrow.

According to an highly impeccable source who confided in our reporter, each of the candidates are entitled to votes, one for yourself and the other for someone else. Anyone with the highest number of vote wins

The ADC had earlier reportedly selected Senator Olufemi Lanlehin as its guber candidate before making a U-turn to nominate a national executive of the party, Dele Ajadi as tentative candidate so as to meet up with the deadline given by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)

ALSO READ  APC destroying traditional institution in Ibadanland – Accord party alleges

The party had since witnessed an alleged clash of interest, and litigations between its stakeholders and the
gubernatorial aspirants as they drag the party, Chief Rashidi Ladoja and Chief Micheal Koleoso among others to court over alleged imposition.

The meeting featured party leaders, governorship aspirants including Barrister Sharafadeen Abiodun Alli, Hon. Festus Wale Adegoke, Dr. Nureni Adeniran, Mr. Ayodele Adigun, Dr. Yunus Akintunde and Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja.

Others are: Senator Gbenga Babalola, Dr. Mohammed Kola Balogun, Senator Olufemi Lanlehin, Engineer Aderemi Olaniyan and Otunba Oluseye Opatoki.

Meanwhile, the national leadership of the party had earlier obtained the consent of Engineer Aderemi Oseni and Barrister Ayanlowo Obisesan, whom were out of the town to the resolution.


By Idowu Ayodele 

Copyright © 2017| MegaIconMagazine. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.megaiconmagazine.com as the source.