Echoes From Ido/Ibarapa East Federal Constituency : Fact About Constituency’s Agreement

CONSTITUTION is essentially described as the embodiment of the most fundamental rules, principles and institutions which constitutes the political fabric of a state as well as human society. Meaning that, it entails the document that embodies the steps that determine how we do things in the society.

In essence, constitution helps to bring order and sanity to the society and for the good governance of the generality of the people.

Also, there are various types of constitution which include the following: written, unwritten, rigid and flexible, unitary and federal, confederal, presidential and parliamentary constitutions respectively.

But for the purpose of this discussion, focus shall be on the “Unwritten Constitution”.

Generally, constitutions are said to be “Unwritten” because they have evolved on the basis of custom rather than on written law. The reference point in this regard remains that of Great Britain. This is because it is a combination scattered in several documents and drawn from diverse sources from the 13th century to the present.

It includes Magna Carta of 1215, Petition of Rights, 1628; Bill of Rights, 1689; The Reform Act of 1832, the Parliamentary Act of 1911 and the rest are documents that represent a landmark in British Constitutionalism.

2019: Olowofela resigns as Oyo Commissioner, picks APC nomination form for Ido/Ibarapa East Federal Constituency Seat

in conclusion, it entails therefore that they are not products of a single act or authority but a product of tradition and emerging needs.

It was on this background information that a federal constituency, in Oyo state, housing Ido and Ibarapa East Local Governments entered into an agreement that could be regarded as the “unwritten constitution” which has enjoyed almost 20 years without any cessation by jointly presenting a Federal Honourable which will represent the good people of Ido/Ibarapa East Federal Constituency based on zoning arrangement.

The two councils have been enjoying the political turn taking, until 2015 when Ibarapa East Local Government held sway to have undue advantage over her Ido counterpart.

ALSO READ  UN family mourns the victims of Sunday’s Ethiopian Airlines Crash

Meanwhile, the said “Unwritten Constitution” was agreed to, concluded and sealed between the two local governments that each zone shall enjoy two consecutive 4years each (8years) irrespective of any political faith.

In 1999, when Nigeria returned to full blown democracy, Honourable Sodiq Anwo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) from Alakaso, Ward 9 dusted Engr. Nureni Adisa of the then Alliance for Democracy (AD) both from Ido Local Government.

Following his welfarist programme , Honourable Sodiq Anwo replicated the same victory in 2003 under the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as against Dauda Azeez of Alliance for Democracy (AD) of Ward 2, Akufo in Ido Local Government. This exhausted the two terms tenure of the council.

Ibarapa East bye election: Ogundoyin emerges PDP candidate

Continuing, in 2003-2007, the pendulum later swung to Ibarapa East, which Ido Local Government observed. This time around It was the turn of the council when Honourable Oluyemi Taiwo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) contested and emerged as the winner in 2007 thrashing the likes of Honourable Sunday Adeyemi Adepoju of the defunct Action Congress (AC) among others.

Ibarapa East Local Government repeated her tenure in 2011 which produced the incumbent, Honourable Sunday Adepoju of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) emerging with 16,772 votes, as Honourable Oluyemi Taiwo who contested under the platform of the Accord Party (AP) scored 14,394 votes, while Oladapo Olusegun of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had 13,384 votes.

Breaching the agreement, Honourable Sunday Adepoju, having contested against Ido Local Government candidates, the council which houses the largest voting population with the support of his former party – the All Progressives Congress (APC) repeated same victory in 2015.

ALSO READ  Industrial Hub: Ajimobi assures landowners of compensation.

This indicates that the Ibarapa East Local Government would be spending 12years as Sunday Adepoju completes his uninterrupted 8years.

Without any breach of agreement, following the laid down tradition of the “Unwritten Constitution”, Ido Local Government, irrespective of Political affiliation must produce the next Federal Honourable that will represent the good people of Ido/Ibarapa East Federal Constituency come 2015.

Interestingly, the stakeholders in Ibarapa East Local Government have conceded the ticket to Ido Local Government considering the zoning arrangement tagged ‘the gentleman’s agreement’

They stressed that the people are presently promoting the “need for a change of baton”

According to the political stakeholders in Ido Local Government who spoke with our reporter, “Ibarapa East Local Government has been in the helm of affairs in the last 12 years. This is a  political turn-taking between the two councils irrespective of any political affiliation as a tradition and it has been helping us to maintain a peaceful political order.

“This tradition has really encouraged the  principles of trust, respect for fairness, equity, and justice as well as ensuring balancing of power”.

However, ahead of the forthcoming general elections, the ruling All Progressives Congress, (APC) in the federal constituency has unanimously agreed to present a consensus candidate for Ido/Ibarapa East Federal Constituency.

Under the ruling party, the immediate past Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology and ex-council gaffer of Ido Local Government, Professor Adeniyi Olowofela has been adopted by the party. Olowofela was the party Chairman, Alliance for Democracy (AD) in Ido Local Government. He also contested the council’s number seat under the platform of the defunct All Nigeria Peoples Party, (ANPP) in 2007 which he won in the controversial election conducted by former Governor Rashidi Ladoja.

Considering the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and other oppositions in the constituency, major contenders are, the former Chairman of Ido LG and two – term state honourable, Hon. Adeola Adesina along side Comrade Busari Olumuyiwa Samod both from Ido Local Government chapter of the African Democratic Congress (ACD) struggling for the party ticket among others.

EDITORIAL: Oyo APC, Not Too Late to Unite!

While, one of the children of the famous PDP leader, Alhaji Yekini Adeojo, Sherrif Adeojo from Ido Local Government is currently battling with Honourable Oluyemi Taiwo, a former occupant of the seat from Lanlate in Ibarapa East Local Government to secure the PDP ticket.

ALSO READ  The Technical University, Ibadan Holds Maiden Matriculation Ceremony Friday

Mega Icon Magazine reliably gathered that the embattled Honourable Sunday Adepoju ( From, Eruwa, in Ibarapa East LG) is still struggling and scheming to return under the platform of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) using all the arsenal within his reach, having defected from the APC, failing his political ‘god father’, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

But, based on strong indications on ground and information gathered, particularly the ‘quest for change of baton’, political parties and gladiators in Ido Local Government are ready to
support ‘Ido candidature’ irrespective of political faith to wrestle power for Ido/Ibarapa East Federal Constituency come 2019.

2019 is around the corner, until then; the game is continuity as event unfolds.


By Idowu Ayodele (Mega Icon Magazine, Political Desk)

Copyright © 2017| MegaIconMagazine. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.