What Jon Moss and linesman discussed just moments before Harry Kane’s penalty was awarded

Three goals and a penalty miss all took place within the final 10 minutes at Anfield as Liverpoolproduced a thrilling 2-2 draw with Spurs.

But controversy surrounded Jon Moss’s decision to award Spurs a penalty in the 87th minute.

After collecting the ball in an offside position, Harry Kane was brought down by Loris Karius when he was through on goal.

However, a penalty was still given because of Dejan Lovren’s attempted clearance. The defender miskicked the through ball and created a new phase of play, subsequently meaning Kane was onside.

Jon Moss seeks advice from his linesman (Image: SKY SPORTS)
The linesman tells Moss that if Dejan Lovren touched the ball Harry Kane is onside (Image: SKY SPORTS)
Christian Eriksen attempts to help (Image: SKY SPORTS)

Jon Moss consulted the linesman who told the referee that it’s a penalty if Lovren did indeed get the touch.

The linesman said: “All I need to know is if Lovren touched the ball or not.

“If Lovren didn’t touch the ball, he’s offside, he doesn’t have the penalty. ”

Christian Eriksen who was stood nearby jumped in and said: “He touched the ball.”

Harry Kane was fouled by Loris Karius (Image: Andrew Powell/Liverpool FC via Getty Images)

Liverpool star Emre Can immediately attempted to counter the Denmark international’s argument.

Speaking after the game, Klopp told Sky Sports: “It’s hard to accept all the decisions today.

“It was clear two sides of high quality both wanted to win desperately, but the result was massively influenced by linesman decisions. We have to take it, that’s how it is.”

Karius saves Kane’s penalty (Image: Getty Images Europe)
Redemption: Karius comes up trumps (Image: Nick Taylor/Liverpool FC via Getty Images)

But when specifically referring to the first penalty incident, Klopp raged: “It was clear offside, unbelievable, I don’t know what they were discussing.”

Naturally, Mauricio Pochettino didn’t agree with the Liverpool boss.

“If Dejan Lovren doesn’t touch the ball, he’s offside, but it’s clear that he touched the ball, so he’s onside,” the Spurs boss told Sky Sports.

 

 

Copyright © 2017| MegaIconMagazine. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.megaiconmagazine.com as the source.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*